Malta Youth Film Festival – Final Awards Night  29/05/2018
Malta Youth Film Festival – Final Awards Night

The winners of the 1st edition of the Malta Youth Film Festival 2018 were announced last week during the Final Awards Night that took place at the Youth Village – St. Venera. Present for the event were the Hon. Parliamentary Secretary for Youth, Sport and Voluntary Organisations – Dr. Clifton Grima and the Permanent Secretary within the Ministry of Education and Employment – Dr. Francis Fabri who presented the first and last awards respectively.

The full list of awards of MYFF 2018:

• Most Original Concept – Magic Mouse by Luke Zammit

• Best Technical Direction – Man on the Moon by VBU Productions

• Best Acting – Relazzjoni by Lyanne Mifsud

• Public Choice Award – Glass by Andrea Tiatto

• Best Script – Sunday by Bruce Micallef Eynaud

• Audience Engagement - Sunday by Bruce Micallef Eynaud

• Best Picture Overall - Sunday by Bruce Micallef Eynaud

There were also special mentions:

• in Documentary – Distant Noise by Nigel Fleri Soler

• in Animation – In the Interim by Alfred Aris

As the winner of the Best Picture overall, Bruce Micallef Eynaud won a prize of €500 and a trip for two to attend the Nordic Youth Film Festival being held in Tromso, Norway this summer, while Andrea Tiatto, winner of the Public Choice award is being offered a full festival pass to attend all the activities of Valletta Film Festival which is taking place in Malta next month. The Malta Youth Film Festival is a collaboration between Aġenzija Zgħazagħ and the Malta Film Commission.